background image

Sound as Art: Call for papers


SoundAsArt Conference
Aberdeen Scotland
November 24th 25th and 26th

SoundAsArt: Blurring of the BoundariesOver the past several years a growing fascination with the emerging art form Sound Art has become prevalent within arts communities and academia. But what is it how is it defined and what is the impact on current practices of composers artists and those working in related fields (video sculpture architecture etc.)?

The conference will take place over a three day period and will feature papers/talks installations soundwalks and performances. The entire content of the conference will be documented for release and made available online in pdf/mp3 format.The conference is presented by the artist group urbanNovember in partnership with the University of Aberdeen with generous support of the Aberdeen City Council.

Call For Papers (Abstracts)

We welcome papers on the topic of sound art that address questions of origin exploration of boundaries between related practices investigations of current practices and speculation on the future development of sound art. Papers by individuals wishing to present their own work in relation to these issues are also welcome.

Proposals in the form of an abstract (500-1000 words) should be submitted via the conference website at (go to “Abstract Submission” and select “Refereed Abstract and Paper Submission” and “Submit a New Abstract or Paper” no later then July 21st. Please do submit early you will be able to revisit and change your submission until that date.

Please note that only papers that can be presented in person will be accepted. Unfortunately we are not able to provide any financial assistance although the conference is free for all to attend.

Key Note Speakers include Professor Jonty Harrison composer/performer Rajesh Mehta and sound artist Christina Kubisch. Guest artists include performers Keith Rowe
Rohan de Saram and Bill Thompson. Installations by Giancarlo Toniutti James Wyness
and soundwalks by Tony Whitehead. Others to be confirmed.

The peer review panel includes:

Dr. John Levack Drever
Lecturer in Composition
Goldsmiths College University of London

Jonty Harrison BA DPhil (York)
Professor of Composition and Electroacoustic Music
University of Birmingham

Rahma Khazam MA
Writer Music journalist

Dr. Fiona Maclaren
Lecturer of Photography
Nottingham Trent University

Rajesh Mehta
Composer Performer

Dr. Ken Neil
Head of the MFA in Critical Social Art Practice at Gray’s School of Art
The Robert Gordon University Aberdeen

Dr. David Reid
Lecturer in Photography
Nottingham Trent University

Dr. Pete Stollery
Composer and Reader in Electroacoustic Music and Composition
University of Aberdeen

Bill Thompson
Performer Sound Artist

If you have any questions please contact us at

Thank you

Bill Thompson
Peter Troxler

SoundAsArt Conference
University of Aberdeen Music
Aberdeen City Council
soundasart list


comments powered by Disqus


Creative Commons License Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Norway License. Web site hosted by BEK.